Risk percentage?

How much do you risk per trade?

I stick to 1% of my available margin. And the most trades I’ve had open is 4 I think. Trading demo. Some people go here as high as 5% per trade, or a daily/weekly limit. I think there’s no perfect answer. What is your risk tolerance. As a beginner, I’d stay in the 1-2% range.

1 Like

Hmmm. :thinking: I try to stick to my 1:3 risk to reward ration. :confused: I find it simpler to measure this in pips though.

1 Like

I am at 2%per trade and I would not reduce this. With a better ROI I would push it up higher. I should be able to get a better ROI through pyramiding but that will have to be after the forex market as a whole starts trending more reliably again.

Since I am still in my Demo, I am managing 5% risk on my trades, but I am pretty sure I would chop it down to 2% max when doing live trading.

All in, all of the time, haha!

Jokes aside, I risk 5% as well

As a new trader I had my risk capped at 1/8th of 1%. This so I would not blow my account while I was learning. Now I risk as high as 3% to 4% per trade if I’m confident that price will do my bidding. I cap my maximum account risk to 6%.

What’s the most you’ve risked total at any one time? I mean, would you keep opening new positions if they fit your system?

Why not do on demo what you would do on live?

Yes!!! And then… no. Ha!

I will suggest just taking risk of up to 1% in live trading. as much you take risk you loss can be exceed if you not properly manage trades . taking risk seems fantastic if you get profit , if we are in loss this will be a big danger. So always do trading in between the lines where you are not fully insecure.

2% is my risk per trade

What risk/reward level do you use?