Timeframe Preference

I understand choosing a right timeframe for trading is a personal choice dependent upon the person’s personality.
So want to ask all fellow traders, what timeframe do you use and why?

I ask because i am curious as to how are traders divided among timeframes on this website? I plan on asking the same question on other websites as well.

I trade long-term with-trend and use dailies only. I do look at weeklies over the most recent 6 months to get confirmation of trend smoothness and strength but not for entries, exits or stops.

There’s a danger that if you’re not seeing what you want to see, on some level of consciousness, if you look harder (i.e. through smaller and smaller time-frames,) you will eventually see what you want and do what you wanted to do using that as your justification, rather than letting the TA on your primary time-frame chart tell you to stand aside for now.

hmm, makes sense. I myself use daily charts as well. But only because i am a student and dont have the time to stick to a computer. Plus my undergraduate degree(double major statistics and economics) give me good insights on long-term fundamentals.
I tried H1 charts before but they seemed relatively more random.

Yep, its generally true that the shorter the time-frame the more “noise” you’re looking at on the chart.

1 Like

Bro, you will see different time frame users. Like I was short term trader at the earliest stage of my trading. The time frame for short term trading and long term trading will not be same. You will not get a clear assumption of which time frame is on an average suitable for all. After spending long time and now I have shift to long term trading. Now my time frame is 1 days to one week.