Total newbie in need of assurance

Hi everyone!

I’m a total newbie to foreign exchange trading and seeking advice on what to do with my USD! I’d like to eventually increase the value of the USD in AUD in the long term 6 months, as I’m from down under. I intend to start the demo account, and read the beginners advice you have on this website having just discovered babypips.com today! Thanks, its a start and very user friendly. :slight_smile:

So far I’ve just had my USD in Dual Currency Deposit (DCD) accounts with a certain bank. However, I listened to the bank’s advice and kept it in USD over the past 8mths, based on the idea that the AUD/USD was too high at .7700 late 06/early 07 to convert back to AUD. Now my options have expired, still in USD, and would like to be more pro-active in my trading, now I have the time. I’m trying not to think of the loss of AUD based on pre-March AUD/USD, vs .8300 now!

The funny thing a friend not involved in anything to do with forex kept advising me the last 6 mths to get out of USD and hold AUD, based on all news including political. Should our decisions be based on more than fundamentals and technical analysis? This high profile bank seems to be providing advice based solely on past technical trends and has got 4/6 past forecasts incorrect. Their current advice is to sit on USD whilst AUD/USD is high at around .8300 and to gain some interest % in another AUD/USD DCD for 1month with a minimum -150 spread.

Instead, I prefer to gain predominantly via capital gain rather than just depend on yield interest income. I don’t need it in AUD urgently. But would like the option of some AUD at minimal loss. I suppose it depends on where the AUD is headed. Could I trade in another currency? Do I have to cut my losses and convert some USD into AUD now? Do you offer forecasts? Will I learn how to diversify and hedge against adverse currency movements in my portfolio?