Unexpected stop loss executed at 6-8 pips different than the actual price

Hello everyone.

I am new to Forex trading, so you will have to forgive me for the possible ignorance in my question here. I have been learning and evaluating forex for the last two weeks on a practice account. But tonight, something happened that scared me good because I don’t know exactly what it was. Here are the events that occured:

On Sunday 9/9/07 9:58 PM, I purchased a standard lot of USD/JPY at 113.040 with a stop loss set at 112.910. The pip spread was low, between 1 and 3, and volitility was low.
At 10:02 PM, the graph showed that the price had dropped to 112.960, and the P&L showed around $-80.00
At 10:03 PM, the graph was going back up and was at 112.970-112.990
At 10:03 I was continuing to watch the P&L very closely, and it was around $-50.00 when suddenly it zerod and closed my position.

I thought perhaps I accidentily hit the mouse and inadvertantly closed my position. So I looked at the log window and saw that my position was automatically sold at 112.910. I thought to myself “Oh, the price must have dipped for a split second and triggered my stop loss.” So I looked at the candlesticks on the 1-min graph at 10:03 PM, but there was no drop.

I requested a customer support agent to chat with to inquire as to what might have happened. They told me that the sell price did hit 112.910. But I didn’t see how, and they could not explain it to me.

Ok, I am new and all, but I’m finding it hard to understand that the actual pair price was 112.970-112.990, but the sell price was 112.910 triggering the stop loss. That’s a 6-8 pip spread! Did I experience some sort of crazy glitch, or do the spreads sometimes spike enormously at various unexpected intervals?

If anyone knows what happened, please help!

There are so many variables here that it is difficult to analyze what happened without knowing more.

The immediate question, of course, is, who is your broker !!?? :smiley: :smiley: