VIPERS Country Store

A variety of topics from Brokers To Trades.

OPENING SOON

Brokers, ahh yes the subject that brings heart palpitations to new Spot Currency traders. ECM, STP, Bucket Shop, Slippage, FINRA, etc. The list goes on, so lets discuss some of this stuff, but before we do I have a bit of mouth running to do.

I have been involved with Spot Currency this since 2004, I have been an introducing broker for 2 different firms, and also have been trading OPM. I was actively engaged as a consultant for the building of a new trading platform, and I had my own live trading internet radio show, by live trading I mean I was trading live with commentary. So I know a lot of behind the scenes and have seen a lot of behind the scenes, some of it cool, some of it not so cool, but all of it done in the chase for Alpha, that elusive Greek alphabet letter. Now if I am mistaken, and you are a verified Analyst/Broker, please feel free to correct me, if not, go away.

So with that lets start.

Market Maker - here is part of the investopedia version:
A market maker is a broker-dealer firm that assumes the risk of holding a certain number of shares of a particular security in order to facilitate the trading of that security.

This is exactly what dealing desk brokers are, they are small size market makes. By holding units of particular currency crosses, they “make the market” for small size trading. Now think of this, on the NYSE, for years there were “houses” that were Market Makers for different stocks, and guess what, the traders dealing with them would curse the market makers for getting bad fills etc. Now there was manipulation involved at times, and if you knew the trader at the IBM desk, and you called in the trade, you might get a better fill than someone off the street. So there is that, but in general things moved along smoothly.