What is the best style for my life situation?

First off let me say hello to everyone - this is by far the best Forex info site on the internet. I’ve been studying up on Forex for the past couple weeks and looking to ramp up my knowledge over the next few months, get going on a demo account till I consistently show a profit, and then start grinding away for real:)

I have an IT/finance background, but it’s always been my dream since I was a kid to trade for a living. About 4 years ago I got disillusioned by the corporate life and got a job at the CBOT. I was making $375 a week with no benefits, but I moved up quickly and eventually started screen trading for a guy. The money didn’t matter at the time because I loved the work.

6 weeks after I started trading mini-S&P futures on the screen - I had 1 winning session! - my boss pulled the plug. I was trading off a $5K account and was allowed to scalp 1 lots. I had no direction or guidance, was terribly undercapitalized, and scalping 1 lots all day was killing me with the commissions. Even a scratch cost me serious money.

That experience really f* up my confidence and dream, and I went back into the corporate life and struggled to get ahead again.

Flash forward 4 more years to 2008. I’m now making good money in my corporate job and have the capital to trade. During the past 4 years I thought alot about why I failed the first time. I came to realize I was a lot closer than I thought I was, and the strategy and bankroll I was handed didn’t suit my style.

I’m tied up with work M-F from 8-7 Pacific time. Based on that, what is my best bet to trade around this schedule until I can trade full-time for a living?

Should I wake up really early and trade, closing all positions by end of day? Or should I take a longer time frame of up to week and hold stuff overnight?