What is your daily goal?

As a day trader, do you aim for a certain number of pips, a percentage, or a dollar amount?

I’m thinking of aiming for about 20 pips a day or just going for about 1-2% of my account balance.

What do you aim for and how often do you meet your daily goal?

I don’t actually use a daily goal or target. I prefer to use a weekly goal this doesn’t pressure me to have to ‘make’ my goal today. If I don’t see anything or am just sitting on my hands I can always say there is always tomorrow. This is just my perspective because of my personal psychology. I strive for my goal every week but sometimes the markets just aren’t cooperating. I hit my target around 60% of the time. Though its not my main concern, also I am still a noob and learning. As I develop I move my goals up as well if I am hitting my goal 85+% or more I am not challenging myself and fostering growth. I use pip targets btw though percent account is good too

I have NO goals, if I get a signal, I’ll take it. I do have daily, weekly and monthly loss limits.

Same as simbafx here.

I have one goal: Only one trade day at max. to limit risk. You can control risk, but you can’t control profit. Profit comes and goes at markets “mood” and if you try to squeeze profit out of the market then this will lead to more losses, because you are not “in sync” with the markets. You can’t dictate the market what to do.

I aim for 10 pips a day. If I get it, great! Done for the day! If not, there is always tomorrow…

The way I see it:

If someone is a full time trader and forex is their sole income, then I would hope there is a monthly goal, just like any successful business would have budget, forecast and P&L stats.

However, if someone is a part timer, who has other income streams or if they are not pressurised to make a certain amount of pips to feed themselves or their family, I can appreciate there being no pips target.