What should a newbie expect? A little help from experience would be great!

Hello everyone,

I’m new to trading on the Forex and would like a little reality check from some more experienced traders before going ‘live’ with real money.

I have been trading on FX now for about 2 weeks using Forex practice software. I’m very disciplined in that I take very small profits at a time and try and stay below 35% of available margin. So far, with 5k in my account, I have managed a little over $400 per week without any losses. I have had tickets where I’ve had to leave them open over night just to return the next morning with them closed out with a profit.

My questions are:

1. Is it realistic for me to assume that if I keep trading with my current strategy that I can take home a small weekly profit as I have been doing without incurring a lost?

2. When I leave a ticket open sometimes it will drop to values well below what is comfortable for me loosing - if I were to take the loss (I know that I have been lucky so far in that the prices have gone back up to my TP points over night as well). So, how do I protect my self? What is a reasonable stop loss? If I set them at 5 PIPS, for instance, 9 times outta 10 its going to ping that stop loss before it gets to my profit.

Any advice or comments from anybody would be greatly appreciated.

~ Pangou

Do not open a live account!! You’ve been lucky so far, but it’s just a matter of time before you lose all your money.

You cannot keep trading without a stoploss! We can’t really tell you what a reasonable stoploss is, because we don’t have enough information about your trading. There’s not simply a “magic number” that makes for a good stoploss. :slight_smile:

I suggest you reread (or read for the first time) the Babypip’s School. It also wouldn’t hurt if you could give us more information about your trading strategy?? It sounds to me like you are gambling, not trading. :slight_smile:

Hello,