What to look for in a broker

hey all, i’m a recent college grad with some extra cash. i’m new to this forum and this whole speculation thing. i’ve been reading/studying up and have decided to try my hand at the forex market. not sure if i’ll even get started anytime soon, but for now i’m wondering how i’ll know a good broker when i come across one? and conversely, how can i recognize a bad one so i’ll know to avoid them?

it seems to me that every one of each one of these companies wants me to believe that they can offer me the best tools at the lowest cost, but surely they can’t all be right.

for example, when i call a broker an suggest i might be interested in opening up an account, what should i be listening for to let me know that it’s the type of reputable/reliable company i’m looking or, and what types of claims should i be skeptical of when they’re trying to sell me?

thanks in advance

Are they regulated with NFA? Do they have a lot of cash on hand in the company? Are they publicly traded? Those are my top 3 I look for.

As you said all of the brokers you will talk to are going to tell you that they are the best and their offer is the best, but most important is what others are going to say about them and are they regulated, what is their ranking.
Also check for tied spreads, deep liquidity and fest execution.

In addition to above try this tool.
Forex Brokers Comparison