My Trading Log

Ok, one more.

Once the trade gets into say 40-50 pips profit I’ll simply start switching up to higher time frames and track it for as long as it seems to want to run, basically switching to normal S/R, trendlines, etc. And gut feeling too of course - willingly or not…

Gotcha… Now go to bed. :slight_smile:

At what point would you put the trade to break even? There are going to be times where the trade moves many pips in your direction but still comes back to hit the SL.
Also, at what point would you call it quits? Presumably, if each entry is 0.3%, you still want to run a total risk of 2% so you have 6-7 strikes?

If no-one else is a programmer, I can have a look at this for you…

When did you first get into Fx?

I’m a really bad programmer, but I’m giving it a shot right now. I’ll let you know if I get stuck. :slight_smile:

Ok, here is my trading plan for testing out this system. Let me know if your backtesting has already shown that anything I’m considering will not work. No need to reinvent the wheel… :slight_smile:

For the entry points I’m going to use the same criteria that I’d use to place NickB scalp lines, but I’m only going to pick the strongest lines. I know that might be a meaningless description to a lot of people reading this, but to MacGyver, Matt, SanMiguel and a lot of others that sums up about a page of rules in one sentence. :slight_smile:

I’m only going to take counter daily trend trades if it’s a really, [I]really [/I]good setup with a good potential for profit. I’m also going to give every trade a 5 pip buffer to help avoid fakeouts.

Because I’m trying to use an EA to help with the entries I’m going to be using IBFX, which has slightly higher spreads than Oanda. Since that’s the case I can’t do a 2-3 pip SL, so I’m going for 5 pips as my stoploss. I’m going to risk .25% per trade, with a max total of 8 trades per setup, making a total risk of 2% per setup.