Visceral Spike

[B]Welcome babypips forex friends. Welcome to my News Announcement trading journal.

I have been trading FX on and off for 4 years, with negative or break-even Y-o-Y capital growth outcomes in 3 of those 4 years. With the increasing demands on my time from work and last ditch desperation, I have decided to try to conquer the much maligned bubonic rat of currency trading: [U]the infamous News Release[/U]. :58:

I invite you to join me on my adventure into this mysterious world of highly volatile, adrenaline pumping, over-leveraged, recklessly dangerous, account balance wipe-out trading. And I welcome your comments, trading ideas, experiences and general banter on the subject.

I will be using a proprietary system that I have forward tested on my demo platform with [B]Alpari[/B]. To be fair, it hasn’t been that bad so far, with the exception of losses resulting from Execution issues:

[ul]
[li]banana peel stop losses
[/li][li]spreads as wide as my computer screen
[/li][/ul]
So, with a new broker offering ‘guaranteed’ fixed spreads on certain pairs, even in news periods - [B]City Index[/B]; here we go!!! :57:

Please don’t be shy to join in on the poll on this thread, I think it would be useful for anyone here to get a sense of overall outcomes from news release trading. Thank you.[/B]

[B]Goals[/B]: No specific long term profit/growth target, will take whatever the market decides to give me.

Before I forget

[B][U]Basic Info:[/U][/B]

[B]Leverage[/B]: 1:400
[B]Broker Restrictions[/B]: 1m - 2m max trade size depending on pair

[B][U]Keys:[/U][/B]

[B]ROI[/B]: Return on the amount invested (in this case the money used to enter the trade(s))
[B]ROA[/B]: Return on account balance
[B]RiskOI[/B]: Risk on amount invested (as above)
[B]RiskOA[/B]: Risk on account balance

[B]Trade #1)[/B]

First Live trade with my new system.

Currency = Cable GBP/USD
Announcement = CPI y/y (on GBP) 16/12/2014 09-30-00 GMT

Account Balance = £5,000