23.6% Fib?

Since I learned about fib retracements I’d only heard about 38.2%, 50% and 61.8% retracements but today I was watching eur/jpy chart and waiting for a 38.2% retracement after its breakout, but it never got down that far, then I noticed that you can choose to display 23.6% level also on marketscope and it made a perfect fit! So can we really call that a fib retracement or should we still expect it to pullback to 38.2% or maybe 50%? If there is such thing as 23.6% retracement, then it would mean that the trend is very strong, wouldn’t it?

I’m no fib expert so I can’t answer your question, but just so you know I checked and Metatrader displays the 23.6% level on it’s fibs. So it is a real level.

The school they have here on babypips indicates that all the fib levels are a possibility, but there are some that are more common than others.

Price is susceptible to just as well reverse at any fib retracement or extension.

Instead of trying to set a firm level at where price is going to reverse, watch price itself. You’ll know which level is a point of support/resistance simply by watching how price reacts around it.

Fibonacci retracement is created by taking two extreme points (usually a major peak and trough) on a chart and dividing the vertical distance by the key Fibonacci ratios of 23.6%, 38.2%, 50%, 61.8% and 100%.
(With thanks to Investopedia)

Read the whole article here. What is Fibonacci retracement, and where do the ratios that are used come from?

I would agree that since a 38.2% indicates a strong trend [B]after an extreme price movement[/B] , the same could be said for a 23.6% retracement if price cannot break past it.

Then of course are the 2 scenarios.

1)If price doesn’t break it, then it could also represent a retest of the swing high/low (0) before reversing again from 0 and returning to the 23.6 to head towards the 38.2 and perhaps beyond.