A deductive approach to chart analysis

I’m an amateur chartist. I use clues left by price action to deduce future movements. I try to read order flow and spot important zones that may attract a large number of similar orders.

When entering a trade I consider the following in order of importance:

[ol]
[li]Directional bias: If this is incorrect, 2 and 3 are irrelevant.
[/li][li]Placement of Stop Loss: I place my stop loss defensively so that there is a very low probability of it being hit if my directional bias is correct.
[/li][li]Entry Zone: These are zones where I expect a large number of similar orders to be present. If I am correct this would cause an explosive movement in favor of my directional bias.
[/li][li]First Opposing Zone: This is the nearest significant zone where orders against my directional bias could be clustered. I will usually take partial profits at this level.
[/li][li]
[/li][/ol]

I rarely look at the news as it is my belief that large players position themselves well before any scheduled news. This leaves footprints on the charts (an example here: http://forums.babypips.com/forextown/52019-thoughts-trading-nonfarm-payrolls.html#post467200).

I manage my risk by setting a desired pip value (e.g. 0.02% of account balance) and then calculating standard position sizes for each pair that I trade. I set a cap on the total percentage risked by open and pending orders (e.g. 5% of account balance).

I prefer this method of position sizing over risking a fixed percentage on each trade as it gives me an incentive to focus on trades with the potential to earn lots of pips. Risking a fixed percentage per trade encourages shorter time frame trading with tighter stop losses, which, in my opinion, negatively affects consistency.

Currently, I am trading exclusively on the H4 time frame focusing on the majors, yen pairs and a few crosses.

I will be using this log to post before and after snapshots of my trades together with my reasoning.