A little guidance please

I have been looking at forex trading and in the process of training with a demo account. , I do however have some questions and would really appreciate some pointers.
My strategy would be daily and looking to close things off at the end of the week.

1. Which platform would you use? I would like to use one I can become familiar and stick with.
  2. The old question of leverage - if say as a beginner I wanted to test out my theories once I feel comfortable, what amount of leverage would you suggest. I would use a start balance of about £250. Also with this amount and using leverage I am trying to understand how much I would expose myself. What I am trying to say is can I end up loosing more than the £250?

Any additional suggestions would be very welcome

Thanks mark

if you’re based in UK, you have a lot of options. personally i like the Swiss guys (Duk).

levarage… ah, the big misunderstood term. just use the following rule: position size should be NO MORE THAN 10 TIMES larger than your balance. when learning, make position size = balance. or even smaller. that’s all you need to know about leverage. unless you’re a cowboy or just pissing in the wind, position should NEVER be more than 10x of your balance.

oh, by the way, that 10x is a good rule of thumb for day traders, so a few trades a day, lasting from 30min to 2hrs per trade.

the longer the trade duration, the smaller the position. don’t ever forget that! don’t use a tiny position for scalping, it’s pointless. and don’t use a 10x position for swing trades, it’s too risky.

leverage guidelines:
day trade = 10x max
scalp = up to 100x if you really want to (i don’t scalp, too rapid for me)
swings = 1x most likely (i’m not patient enough for this)

Thanks for the reply, I’m still confused about leverage.

So if what you are saying is use 10x leverage and I have a £100 fund, if I lost the lot would I loose £100 or £1000?

Thanks mark