A question about stop loss

Hi I am new to the Forex trading. What bothers me most now is when to exit. For example, I use 2% as my stop-loss. For most of the time, there were price swings after I opened a position (unless it’s a very strong momentum), it’s easily to hit my stop loss limit. Although all the indicators suggest that the trend might continue, I have to exit because I want to stick to my rule. Again, most of the time, the trend continues very well after my exiting. I could have won many pips, instead of loss.

This question is also relevant to the time frame selection. Does longer time frame mean you hold the position longer? If that’s the case, will you experience more price swing?

I am really curious about how the experienced trader handle this situation.

Thank you very much for the advice.

You are looking at this slightly the wrong way.

You need to find out what S/L (stop loss) your system will tolerate,
then calculate your 2% to equal this amount of risk.

eg if 2% = $200 & you are allowing 50 pips S/L then you need to
open a trade with a pip value of $4/pip.

Could you give us a little more information about how you’re setting up your trades. It’s great that you’re following the 2% risk per trade rule, and even better that you’re sticking to it, but how are you figuring the amount of pips to use for a stop loss? What time frame are you using? What pair? Basically walk us through one of your typical trades… :slight_smile:

And trading higher time frames doesn’t necessarily mean you’re holding trades for long periods of time. I trade off 4H charts and most of my trades last less than 1 hour.

Lots of things you have just to try out on a demo account until YOU feel comfortable with. The YOU is important because what somebody thinks is a no brainier somebody else can’t get the hang off it.