About the Candlesticks, Chart Patterns, and Price Action category

With so many chart patterns out there, things can get confusing. If you have any questions about technical analysis, chart patterns or price action, this is the place to ask them!

21 Likes

Please I am very new to forex. Still trying to understand certain terms. Please what is the meaning of price action?

6 Likes

YouTube is your friend. A lot of professional traders base their strategy around price action

9 Likes

Hello house I have been trading for a while now but I am still not quite at the level I had hoped to be. I get so turn around at times and I havencome to believe that price does not always give you warning before it start trending an example is GBPUSD 15-08-2018 to 31-10-2018 I was looking towards a gatley or crab pattern but with price so close to 161.8% fib level I was.waiting for a signal On H1 or H4 but surprisingly price just skyrocket leaving waiting saying it will come back time give a signal

4 Likes

Call it what you will, its all price action. a candle is simple a graphical representation of that price action and each candle ha a story of its own to tell, and a few candles together make up a pattern.

A guy named Thomas Bulkowski wrote the Encyclopedia and included percentages of this candle or that pattern. For me to be trusted it must have over a 75% percentage of success. To that end, there are only a few basic patterns and candles.

However, Steve Nison gets most of the credit for this education.

At the beginning of the session, PA can only go three ways, up, down and sideways.

12 Likes

I am a newbie going through the school of Pipsology. There is a quiz on chart patterns at the end of grade 7 and I think question 5 must be a writing mistake. The way the question is formulated the answer should be (I think) either a triangle or a pennant but neither is proposed as a possible answer. FWIW.

2 Likes

It’s just reading what has happend by looking at candlesticks

5 Likes