Account management

Hi Folks,
Im a newbie and i have 2 questions on account management:

1. When we talk about risk per trade, for example set a stop loss at a maximum of 2% per trade so that you cannot lose more than 2% per trade, does this percentage include the leverage you are using or is it on your base account?
  2. I have read alot about risk reward ratio and 1:2 seems to be the common target. so you stop out at 1 and take your profit at 2 times that, but what if the trend is a large one in your favour and you stop out at 2 times your loss, dont you lose out on huge potential profits. Do you follow the trend with a trailing stop or re-enter with a smaller lot size? Just looking for a strategy on this, apologies, im sure this is covered in the school but im not fully finished it and some of the details have probably gone in one ear and out the other!!

Regards,
R.

1. It will be 2% of your actual account balance.

2. If it’s a strong trend & your position closes out at 2R then be thankful that your trade closed out in profit. However your target should be set from your analysis prior to entering the trade, if you deem it a strong trend, then you could adjust your target to 3R. It’s a tricky one as exits are subjective, everyone will think differently. Do you wait for a price action signal to exit? Do you move your stop to break-even & see how it pans out? Do you move it to bank 1R profit with a 1R trailing stop? There’s many options & it’s different strokes for different folk.

thanks Baz on both questions.

Hi reddle28

There are quite a few methods you could use. Personally, if I risk 2%, I will move the stop to break even when it is positive 2%. When it reaches 4% I book half the trade and move the stop up on the remaining half to the 2% mark and then let it run looking to catch the bigger move

Thats sounds like a reasonable strategy, thanks.

Regards,
Conor.