Advanced Stop in MT4

Hi guys,

I just started trading forex and I have a question about an advanced stop I’d like to do. At the moment I’m only using Tradeinterceptor to trade, so I would like to know if on MetaTrader (which I’ve seen is the most popular and I am considering to start using it) is possible to do this kind of stop:
I’d like my position to be divided in two halves, both with a stop loss of say 30 pips. The first half has a take profit of say 40 pips while the second half of 60 pips. I want that if price moves in my favor for 40 pips I want the second half to automatically move the stop loss in order to lock in those 40 pips so that if price continues to move in my favor I can get the 60 pips gain and if it does not I still end up with the 40 pips profit I have locked in. Any sort of help or suggestion would be much appreciated, thanks,

Claudio

Hi Claudio,
In order to do something like that in MT4 you would need a script/Expert Advisor combo because you can only set your stop to trail and/or to stop out at a target price in MT4.

I had to make my own scripts/Ea to do what you described; the scripts opens an order (buy/sell, pending) and sets the lot size, stop, target, and order magic # (to identify it later when the order is partly closed). Then my EA monitors any open orders and will close 1/2 the order at whatever pip profit target I set it to, and moves the stop to b/e and remaining half which will continue on to stop out at it’s target or b/e. So for instance I set it to close half the order at 25 pips and move the hard stop to b/e, and then the 2nd half is a free trade either way, but it will only be worth half the pip profit value.

Hope that’s what you meant :slight_smile:

Thank you for your reply.