Am I on the right track?

Hello everyone, hope everyone is safe in these crazy times we live in !

So I wanted some advice on my current trading. I started learning trading a number of years ago, but blew a few small accounts, jumped strategies, tried binary options etc. Then took a break, tried again, failed.

Since then I started investing more time into Trading Psychology and in May 2020, I decided to go live again. But this time my mindset was completely different and my expectations were way lower/realistic. And my discipline was on point, and I journalled it all, as well as sticking to one strategy throughout.

Other than skipping one month of trading during that time, I traded all of the months (7 months). So after 7 months of trading live, my account is up by around 10%. My ultimate goal would be to hit around 5% returns per month but I know this will be difficult to get to. My question is am I on the right track ? What can I do to improve my results ? I look at my journal but then struggle to find areas in which I can potentially improve on.

Now I know achieving my 5% per month goal wont happen overnight, but how long would I need to be trading to hit such a goal ? What things am I looking for to see where I can improve ? I only risk 1% per trade and aim for 2-3% per winning trade. I currently trade the D, 12hr, 8hr charts mainly.

Where else can I look to learn more rather than looking at different strategies/indicators ? Are my expectations relistic ? Should I be aiming for lower or more returns ?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

Luqman

1 Like

Hi Lucmancfc,
It seems you have already earned your badge of honour from past experiences. welcome to the Forum. If you have not already read these, I suggest you read (front to back) Trading in the Zone (Mark Douglas) and Trade Your Way to Financial Freedom - Van K Tharp.