Any Yanks Making It?

Hello, all. I was studying and starting to demo and backtest in earnest when I had to step back for personal reasons. After a 17 month hiatus I’m looking at taking another stab at this.

One thing I seemed to notice while I was active is that I didn’t see a significant percentage of US residents who appeared to be successful. I began to wonder if the tax laws and regulations here made FX success inordinately different compared to other countries. Comments, anyone?

1 Like

I’m no expert, but I think USA has restrictions on shorting and no tax-breaks for winning? Is that correct? In UK you can short anything you like and profits on Forex/commodity Spread-betting (we essentially do our trading on gambling websites) is tax free!

Yeah, I’m pretty sure I’ve heard that before from folks in the UK. To be honest, I started studying Forex as much as an intellectual exercise as anything else, and I know playing with Monopoly money in a demo account isn’t the same thing, psychologically speaking. But before I put skin in the game it’d be nice to know I could keep from losing said skin without emigrating to Myanmar or something.

1 Like

Is there a particular geo that stood out whose residents appear successful? :open_mouth:

Not really, but then again it’s not like I’ve made a study of it. Just impressions. And I know that just because someone else is successful or not doesn’t mean the same will be true for me. I just know the gov likes to tax and regulate everything here. I’m trying to figure out if its to the point that forex is just not a workable endeavor here for someone who would like to eventually make a living at it.

We can’t hold trades over the weekend and we can’t trade in both directions on the same pair. We also have to close trades in the order we placed them.

We have to work around these rules if we want to do anything but scalp or work off of 4H or less timeframes.