Anyone learned to program just because of forex?

would you share how long did it take you?

although i doubt anyone here did it… just want to see if there is really people out there

I’m a professional programmer. Leaned back in the 80s in college so that’s what I do to make a living. Unfortunately I don’t program in the mql4 EA language, but all programming languages have some things in common such as logic structures so once you learn one, it’s not that hard to learn another. The main differences are syntax. So I am busy teaching myself. and fortunately because of my experience it shouldn’t take long.

I don’t know if I’m allowed to post a link but I will give it a try.
I’ll leave off the http part so it is not directly click-able.

here is a tutorial, I won’t say it’s a really good one but it’s the best I found so far.

forexmt4.com/_MT4_Tutorials/

scroll down a little ways and you will see lessons 1 through 18
you could probably go through each of those lessons in less than an hour.

Yes I did. Took less time that I expected to do what I wanted but I spent a long time resisting it, thinking I could get away without it. I ended up farming a lot out to 3rd parties, but ultimately the core of my strat is all mine. It’s safer in the long run if you understand the code yourself.

I share the same resistance. Now I am looking for alternatives to programming (somehow I didn’t imagine computer programming as a forex necessity). Ive been doing manual testing, but its slow and tedious, and sometimes I wonder if I spent the time learning programming that I would be better off right now.

Ahhhh!! :smiley:

Lucky you!! :wink:

I also learnt Fortran 4 back in the 1970’s when computers filled whole rooms.
My brother in law is a professional programmer from back in the days when Windows was never thought of.

Funny, he hates the Windows operating system.

So for me, I am learning my way around the CTL system of GFT.