As retail traders, should we stop searching for holy grails and embrace mediocrity?

I’ve probably designed at least a dozen marginally profitable trading systems (0.2 to 0.4R expectancy), but thus far have failed to come up with a high-expectancy system (>1R) that can compare with professional traders.

Then I asked myself, why fight using my weakness? Why not deploy all these mediocre systems and let frequency of trades compensate for my low expectancy? The more systems you use, the more trading opportunities you will find.

Obviously these systems should be non-correlated as possible. But as a retail trader, I think this is one way we can shift the odds in our favour against the professionals and institutions. Thoughts?

Jump on the big moves, as YOU cant create a move yourself…

This is a good mindset to adapt. :wink:

What kind of systems are you trading? I’d be interested to learn a bit more about it.

I’d have to disagree with that, it would appear to me that KingKaivar’s mindset is focused on his systems as opposed to what the market is doing, and when and where to apply those strategies.

Never embrace mediocrity, always strive to be the best.

The better trader will wait for the market to come him/her, and that can mean staying out for 2 weeks or more quite often! A profitable trader will not force the issue where the potential to crash and burn is high.