ATR Trailing stop

So, i want to start using trailing stops to lock in profits and to eliminate the human factor when the trade starts to move against you. Too many times a winning trade turns into a loosing one because of me, me hoping that the price will turn around ones again into at least breakeven.

My question is how do i use the ATR value when i set the trailing stop?

I am currently looking at the GBP/JPY in the 1H timeframe and the ATR value is 0,200. How can i use that when i set my trailing stop? Is the ATR value in pips? points? btw i am aware of that i can multiply the ATR as well

Also, other currency pairs have ATR values with more decimals, like the EUR/USD, that has a ATR value of 0,00200, how do i use that value when i set my trailing stop?

I hope you guys understand what i am asking about, its my first time in any forum.

ATR is dependent on price volatility and time-frame but you must also be aware of the time horizon. So, although your time-frame for GBP/JPY trading is H1, the ATR can only be obtained if you input the time horizon, e.g. 20ATR on the H1 time-frame means the ATR will be calculated from ranges of the last 20 hours.

The ATR value is derived from price and is expressed as a portion of price. So if GBP/JPY is 143.465 and you are long, and the ATR20 is 0.200, you might want to set a stop 1 x ATR20H1 below, which is -
143.465 minus 0.200 = 143.265.

The ATR figure you are asking about – 0,200 – represents 20,0 pips.

In the U.S., we use periods instead of commas, so we would say that the ATR figure 0.200 represents 20.0 pips.

In the rest of this post, I’m going to use the U.S. notation (periods, rather than commas), so that I don’t confuse myself. I hope I won’t confuse you.

Here’s a previous post in which I answered a similar question about the ATR in yen-pairs –
What does the ATR value translate to in pips? You might find it helpful.