Avoid Greed At All Cost!

My lessons for today’s trade;
Whatever you do avoid greed.
Don’t over trade.
Avoid revenge trading.
Always use a lotsize that compliments your capital.
Close some positions and set BE on the rest.

So I opened too many positions today on xauusd and gpcad, the setup was good and the trade was finally going well after some pullbacks. But I got greedy and took my eyes of the trade hoping it will hit TP1 and boom it went against me. Long story short, lost half of my capital, SL saved me I would have lost all.
Please adhere to the above

2 Likes

Nothing to do with greed as this is the norm price movements for many trades,and unlucky.

The main mistake is if you lost half your capital, you are not controlling your risk exposure.

You could try bringing your S/L up to breakeven on initial winning movement.

2 Likes

I’m a complete newb but just ready best loser wins and he disagrees with a lot of what you’ve just said…

Could you post what Tom would disagree with. Thanks.

Unfortunately, it’s such kind of common issue, if we trade here with our personal emotions then surely market will vanished us!

1 Like

My life story. But at least you honored your SL. I think in your case it’s more position sizing. The first step is recognizing your mistake and then working from there. Your post here says a lot about you wanting to become a better trader!

I think most times it has to do with our emotions which is heavily triggered by or greed most times, we really have to do all we can to control our emotions.
This article might help as a beginner; …How To Invest Money.

1 Like

There is an alternative solution, because no-one on the planet can switch off emotional challenges unless they are robots. A ZEN solution is to accept emotions but learn to detach our mindset from what is happening to trades, as we have no control over what the market throws at us.