Avoiding Margin Call

Hello experts,

I am a newbie in forex trading. I have been going through articles on forex trading and came across ‘Margin Call’. The two options to prevent margin calls is given as:

1. Use stop loss orders
  2. Maintaining adequate funds in the account

Suppose I am going on long and didn’t place any stop loss. Unfortunately market turned against my trade and almost reached the margin call level. Can I place a reverse order (for example initial order was Buy and now I am placing a Sell order) to prevent margin call?

Please advice.

Thanks,
Sunil.

That would be called Hedging, the US brokerswill not allow that, coz of the recent laws.
beside it wont do you any good if you are in a loss you will lock in that loss, its very hard to get outof that situation. Its not imposible but its hard.
Jado

Yes, ‘Hedging’, that is what I was looking for. Thank you very much Jado.

But still I wonder how the brokers differentiate Hedging and Swing trading. Jado, can you please explain this?

Note: I hold a FXCM account, looks like these people allow Hedging (UK Forex Trading - Currency Trading - FXCM)

First things first: Trade smaller!

If you are risking a margin call then you are most definitely trading much too big.

Second thing: “Hedging” might stop the bleeding in the immediate term, but it doesn’t change anything. It just locks your loss in as long as you have the hedge on. You won’t be able to recover so long as you’re hedged and there’s no guarantee that once you do lift the hedge that the market doesn’t carry on against you and trigger that margin call anyway.

Yes, just to protect my money from margin call, not to make any profit.

For long term trades, I learned that people doesn’t put stop loss. If the market goes against the trade, I believe hedging is the only option to protect our account, is this true?