BabyPips.com's Broker Guide

We’re thinking about revamping our broker guide, but if we do decide to revamp it, we want it to be the best. Of course, it can’t be the best without feedback from our valuable community… We need your help to do this. We want to know what things are you most concerned with when choosing a broker. Pip spreads? Location? Leverage? What do you think of our current broker guide? does it suck? If it sucks, how so?

Thanks in advance for your feedback!

I’m new to forex and am still looking for a broker/reading the babypips school papers :).

What I am personally concerned about however is mainly the spreads, account types, and customer service. I don’t have much starting capital possibly $1000 at most right now so leverage is something I’d like, however at the same time I don’t want to tempt fate and have leverage backfire on me; therefore not as important as the others.

I think the only thing people can agree on about forex brokers is that there’s no one broker that is “best”.

So why not make a list of recommendations based on typical forex trader types? For example, a recommended broker (and runner-up) for each of the following types: swing-trader, day-trader, scalper, mechanical, fundamental, etc.

Great idea… From what I gathered (and I’m a newbie who hasn’t even decided on a broker yet - mostly because of the great confusion), if you try to trade the news, for example, an ECN would be a much better choice than a market maker. And also in general, they’re perceived to be ‘more honest’. Although normally (and correct me if I’m wrong) the market makers tend to have better spreads, more flexibility in lot and account sizes and more information/charting options etc.