Backtesting

I am just starting out in the FX business and am looking to backtest some simple trading systems. Can anyone recommend a a good place start.

Thanks

Depending on what time frames you are interested in, you should look for a chart service that has a lot of data.

Certain brokers, like GFT, are not good for back testing on the lower time frames. They may only keep a few days worth of data on the 5 min or 15 min charts.

The one I use for back testing is FXPro. I would NOT recommend live trading with them, but if you go to their website, they will give you a “free for life” MT4 demo account that has not only plenty of data for Forex data but also data for Gold, oil, S&P futures, dow futures, even corn and wheat. FXPro’s free demo account has been an indispensable tool for me on many occasions.

Happy pipping!

Backtesting truly has limited value. I personally see zero value in it. Why waste time with backtesting when you can do live forward tests with a demo account feeding you live data? Don’t fall in love with backtesting… go forward…always go forward and go live. Backtesting has a huge flaw since it does not see every point movements and anything less than 100% accurate is a waste of your time to give you false data.

I agree with JohnnyFX. Backtesting is limited. Its better to demo test than back test.

I’ve been using a program called Forextester. You can download price and volume data for all of the major pairs for the past 15 years. You can pick a starting date for your testing and advance the data in real-time, or as fast or slow as you prefer. There is a free downloadable trial version, and the pro
version allows you to use all of the technical indicators that Metatrader uses.