Beginner's Disaster!

HI Everyone

I am new to FX and new to this site, but let me waste no time in telling you about my very brief, very disastrous foray into the world of FX.

I recently opened a micro account with FXCM with $400. Within the space of 8 days I have successfully manage to convert that $400 into $150. Luckily. however, I have realised that right now, I shouldn't be allowed within 200 yards of a live trading account. ( only cost me $250 to learn that !! ) Now since I believe honesty is always the best policy, let me tell you my mistakes so far as I see them.
  1. Read a couple of things about MACD, Bollinger and Stochastics and decided I knew it all.
  2. Didnā€™t know it all !!
  3. Came home from work at night and thought I could just sit down and get on with it. Paid no attention to economic events or news.
  4. Started chasing to regain losses by using bigger and bigger lot sizes. Just lost more.
  5. DIDNā€™T use stop losses.
  6. Probably didnā€™t start with enough money, but then in this case that was probably a blessing in disguise.
  7. Pure and simple, didnā€™t, and still donā€™t, have the education to be messing around with FX.

All that said, my account is still sitting at $150. I wonā€™t touch it now until I have learned a whole lot more. As you probably know, micro accounts only deal in 10 cents per lot Eur/Usd, so at the very least, when I DO learn some more, Iā€™ll start using it again to see how I get on.

Last thing I would add is this. I understand why all FX education sites tell people to start with a demo account. But believe me, it is NOTHING like the same as using REAL money, regardless of how small the amount. I was once losing $23,000 in a demo account, but hey, not real money so no panic. I let it ride and ended up making $6000. Easy this FX !!

But you try being down $1 of REAL money and you're reaching for the panic button.

My advice ?? Get educated first !! Start with a micro account and play for pennies.