Beginning My Forex Journey

Hello fx community!!!i’m a beginner trader and I’ve been trading on a demo account for about two months now. I did do some trading before but it was all a mess because I didn’t know how to break even or close with half profits I was just going in and out of the markets. Anyway, I started with a 3000.00$ account with a 0.5 lot size, I’ve been backtesting with a consolidating range strategy based on candlestick patterns and trends in the market. I’ve had an excel sheet to record my trades, I’m taking notes. Sometimes I get frustrated but that’s normal to feel that way. The first month I had small profits but I was using a 0.1 lot size and not even breaking even. The second month when I started breaking even, closing with half profits, and really taking note of the trend and entering the market when the candles hit the area of support (especially with a long wick cause that was indicating seller strength) and collecting small profits when it came down. I don’t use stop losses on the one hour time frames I only use them on the 4hourly and daily time frames. I want to compound interest on my account over time, so I went from 3000.00 to 4131.00 during a months span. I know trading on a demo is way different to trading on a live account but I will continue to backtest this strategy I’m using. Is this small profit of a thousand mean that I’m on the right track??

Pls respond I’m looking for people to discuss trading with

1 Like

It’s difficult to assess consistency after just 1 month. Maybe give it a bit longer and that may give more of an indication of how well the strat works.

There’s nothing wrong with starting with a smaller lot size of 0.1 I think that would be more suited to the account balance

1 Like