Best time frame to trade for a beginner with a small account

I have exactly one year since I started learning Forex but I have blown my real account twice already due to tight stops as I use the 1 hr and 4 Hr time frames. Is there any advice for me as I go back to studying the best time frame to trade. I need some help…

4 Likes

Sounds like you need to learn more before looking at time frames…

6 Likes

I use daily for the trend, 4 hour for charting and 1 hour for entries.

10 Likes

I also do use this but tight stops make me loose because of my small account.

There is no easy time frame. It depends on the method of each individual. However, I personally find that H1 time frame and above are reasonable. The higher the frame should be to stop the loss and take profit beyond a small time frame

1 Like

what’s your account size?

1 Like

Hi Kelvin, theres a few things you can do:
You can take smaller positions so your stop loss can be put further away.
Or put more money into your account so you can place the stop at the right position.
Or you can go down to a smaller timeframe where the stop can be closer than on a higher timeframe.

More worryingly, you have noticed that tight stop loss is the reason you blew 2 accounts. If you know you’ve made a mistake, you should note it down, read it everytime you trade and never do it again.

5 Likes

That’s what all of us have done somewhere on the journey, blowing some accounts.

I would say, one year is not a reliable time period for being successful on forex and you need to practice more.

regarding your question about timeframe, actually, there is no wrong or right timeframe and everything depends on your strategy.

if you’d provided more details about your strategy, we might be able to be more helpful, however, there are some general ideas for setting SLs.

For example, behind the previous swing high/low is a safe place for placing the SLs.