Calculating profit/losses on Forex Cross Trade

Here is one that i’ve been looking for answers with no success for weeks.
I am new to Forex and have been doing some demo trades for about 2 months at which point surprisingly i am profitable. I did 15 trades. I’ve been learning to swing trade US stocks for 3 years and i am not losing anymore. Next step is to be profitable consistently even slightly.

My question is how do we calculate the profit in the canadian domestic account on a cross rate trade. Hopefully i will explain myself well!

Here is the example for this:

Buy 14680 CHF of EURCHF @ 1.1100
and say it reaches 1.1150 and i sell it.
So then i get 50 pips, right? Then i’d have to convert this to canadian.

What rate would i use? The CDNCHF at the exact time when i sold it?

THanks ahead.
Max

If your broker is in Canada and you opened the account with CDN, then your profit is in CDN.

Remember that when we say we are instructing the broker to “buy” EUR/CHF, he isn’t really going to take CHF’s from the safe and sell them and come back from the bank with EUR’s in an envelope. You have really instructed him to bet that EUR will rise against the CHF. If you’re right, the increase in the exchange rate is a reflection of the increase in value of EUR’s if you had actually bought some, so as the benefits of “buying” are the same as the benefits of ownership, we say “buy” when we mean bet on a price rise. Brokers (like most people) get very touchy about using the word “bet”.