Can profitability be achieved by being self-taught?

Ultimately we are the ones who make the decision to learn one way or another🥲

Trading is not too complicated to learn.

Ignore the statistics which report that about 80 percent of traders are losing money - many of them do not actually want to learn.

3 Likes

I totally agree, the majority want money, this being the wrong intention, when knowledge is necessary first, and it is found everywhere.

Of course, but what you learn and how you learn it matters.

2 Likes

Learn well, totally

Wish I was self taught or had a mentor to start off. Would’ve saved me a decade of time chasing strategies.

Forums like these are the absolute worst place to “learn” from. I could’ve learned more from flea markets & auction yards than anything off the Internet.

First thing first, welcome to the community, lots of things to explore here.
As regards attaining profitability through self-ed, definitely possible and i myself is a vivid example. No mentor nor model; i went through thick and thin to get what i want - the know-how of trading.
You would be surprised what you’ve learnt surpassed most mentors iQ

3 Likes

Thank you, trusting what you know and accepting our knowledge is key, very good opinion.

1 Like

I didn’t understand the opinion

The study of Efficient Market Theory & Auction Theory.

The background for which we are not taught here, but required to profit long-term.

that’s hitting the point

Yes it’s possible but mastering a skill will cost you in time or money and often both. If you don’t have a clear direction, learning path, or fall into cycle of strategy hopping while learning on your own, it will cost you a lot of time.

We can always make more money but we can never get our time back as mortal beings. That’s the part that people overlook when trying to save money.

2 Likes

You never get back time, it’s probably better to invest in a good method than try to create one.

That sounds familiar :joy:

1 Like