Candlestick formation Vs Indicators

Do people see candlestick patterns or indicators as more important?

I know ideally you want the candlesticks and indicators to suggest the same market movement but this isnt always the case.

Often I will see a candlestick pattern form, for example a pin bar or engulfing candle suggesting a reversal into an uptrend, but the all the indicators, MACD, Moving average, RSI etc suggest a continuation of the downtrend.

Or, all the indicators will suggest a reversal and Im waiting for that confirmation candlestick that never appears.

What are your thoughts?

Having backtested the past two years, results are mixed. Candlesticks can be subjective in definition outside of the dojis.

You will have to test through different environments in the past and understand their context.

Volume, direction, volatility, structure all play a role.

1 Like

Personally, candlesticks are always my starting point. I’m a technical trader, my starting point is a plain chart and I’m looking for generalist setups. I’ll then use wider analysis, including RSI, to make a case for my initial instinct. If the case can’t be made, I don’t take the trade.

1 Like

You need to use both. If you use either one by itself you’ll lose money as they are unreliable.

Technical indicators aggregate data from price action, some of which is represented in candlesticks, so clearly they will lag the formation of candlesticks themselves. If the strategy depends on finding reversals, they will always be accused rightly of being late.

But maybe reversals are a low-success, high-risk strategy anyway. The thing is, not even price action of any sort definitively shows that a trend is going to reverse into the opposite trend. That would be showing the future and how could the market participants, who make price move, possibly know that? The best a pattern or indicator of ANY sort can show is a trend failure, and this is not a reversal.