CFTC/NFA rules and regulations

I am a new trader about to start out; I’ve only been trading demos up to this point. I have frequented this forum a lot, and am learning a great deal from ICT and others!

For now, I’ve a few concerns, which I believe can be answered easily by veterans of Forex. So here they are… and I hope they don’t violate any policies of this forum; for as much as I’ve studied this site, they shouldn’t.

[B]First, its technical…sort of.[/B]
I learned in the demo that if the market moved against me, and was to hit my stop, I could potentially mitigate my losses by opening a counter position before my stop is executed and closing that position also close to that stop. This method, depending on the number of lots traded and its statistical probability of execution, could cut my losses. This, while being in the US, I was able to do on a fxcm demo mt4 account - which I now presume must be non-US. I then downloaded another firm’s (US-based) mt4 and created a demo account. There this strategy was prohibited with the words ‘Hedging is prohibited’ stated when trying to generate an order. I investigated what that meant and it turns out that I can’t simultaneously go long and short on the same currency pair. NFA - the self-regulating US agency - came up with this rule in around May 2009. CFTC backed them up and so, this is now the general rule for all US brokers registered with NFA and CFTC.

With that background that may not be news to most here, kindly indicate if my reasoning has erred. For the most part, I think I have it right.