Chart Patterns Question

So I’m still starting out as a trader and I was researching how to do technical analysis and charts

I came across this article:

How accurate are these kinds of patterns usually (from personal experience) ? Thanks

Personally I don’t find them highly accurate in flagging up the point in time when a move is about to start, or in forecasting the distance price is probably going to travel after. They usually get the direction right though.

Most chart patterns are reversal patterns, and I find making profits from following trends much easier and more reliable. Therefore, whereas most recommend these patterns as entry signals, I look for patterns which might tell me to stay out of a particular trend. For me chart patterns are more useful as “stay-outs” signals rather than buys or sells. But if its a great trend I still ignore the pattern.

2 Likes

These are price action patterns … not trading signals.

They are only used to describe market behaviour, not to predict the market’s future.

In my opinion, In order to trade, you need to specialize in one asset at a time, and try to understand it’s global behaviour (technical and fundamental). You need to build strategies for that specific asset. Once you master one and be profitable, you can research new ones …

Not all currencies have the same behavior, not all strategies will work in all pairs.

3 Likes

I would agree, i think their main use is to get you into spotting movements on charts and showing that mass psychology can be viewed on a chart but completely agree with tommor trend following is the key and not to try and pick the top and bottom. :slight_smile:

1 Like

Price patterns are the most common form of technical analysis, but they are pretty subjective, and some traders don’t find them useful.

As per my personal experience, initially I used to follow these patterns a lot, especially the bull pattern. It was very interesting (also looked fancy), and I thought it was reliable as well.