Combining Indicators with Moving Averages

Helloooo! :blush: I’ve been trying to work on updating my system but I don’t really want to change it completely.:thinking: It’s basically a golden cross system but I’ve been thinking of adding at least 1 more indicator to improve accuracy and help me spot better entries. :open_mouth: Is there a particular indicator that works best with moving averages for this? :open_mouth:

3 Likes

You might want to try an indicator that isn’t based on or derived from moving averages (there are plenty!), so that you’re adding something new and different?

Maybe something based on support and resistance like a Donchian channel? Since more “apparent breakouts” are fakeouts than the real thing, that could be a good way to try?

How fast/slow are your moving averages?

3 Likes

I’m doing the classic 200 and 50. :open_mouth: It’s very basic, so I’ve been thinking of how I can make it work better for me. :sweat_smile: This is my first time hearing about Donchian channel. I’ll look it up! :blush: Thank you sooo much for the suggestion Truncated! :smiley:

1 Like

Good luck and congratulations on your wedding, which I just read about!

Let me know if you have questions.

MA-50 above/below MA-200 is great for judging trend direction.

You might try a much faster D-channel for the entries?

Example: when MA-50 is above MA-200 and both are rising, look only for long entries. When MA-50 is below MA-200 and both are falling, look only for short entries. Long entry is when a bar opens below the lower Donchian line and closes above it (resuming the uptrend after a retracement). Short entry is when a bar opens above the upper Donchian line and closes below it (resuming the downtrend after a retracement). Might work, with a setting of maybe 10 or 12 for the Donchian???

You could possibly even try it using the Donchian midline (maybe setting of 15???) and not bother with the Donchian upper/lower lines at all??