Committing to Proper Technical Analysis

Fellow Pipizens,

I’ve been interested in Forex trading for about 4 months, experimenting with a live account, low capitalization ($500) and little knowledge/experience. So far, I’ve been able to break even, leading me to believe that with a proper trading plan I might be able to make this work. My audacious goal is to become good enough to do this full time and trade from anywhere in the world.

So. I’ve moved back into a demo account that will enable me to test with proper capitalization, and refine a strategy that works for me. I plan to trade once a day (when I can) since I don’t have time to scalp (current full-time job). With this thread, I will share the various trades I make, the results, and look forward to some constructive criticism that will assist in my refinement.

Stay tuned for trade 1…

9 Likes

Trade #1: SUCCESS

This is my first attempt to use technical analysis to determine if I want to place a trade. I’ve been heavily focused on GBP/CAD, but will need to branch out if I want to find good trades on a regular basis. Brexit is making this pair a bit unpredictable.

Indicators:

• Stochastic indicator showed oversold on the purchase date (Feb 15).
  • MACD was diverged, but showed a bit of a move towards converging and moving up.
  • RSI was not showing oversold, but appeared to be moving towards an upswing.

Chart Analysis

• Trend line channel indicated possible support level.
  • Fibonacci indicated support at .786, which further lead me to think that support was close by.

I realized I took a leap of faith on a couple of these indicators, due to their lagging nature. I set my limit to about halfway to the resistance level of the channel. In the end, I was up 21 pips.

2 Likes

I’m wondering how someone rates their “successful” trades when, in hindsight, you could have earned more by setting a higher limit. Is that still considered a win?

Pipizens!