Confused about (free) margin

Hey, so I’m very new to forex, started learning from the very basic terms and I’m a little confused about free margin term. I just cannot understand how “free margin” means the amount available to open new positions.

So lets say I deposited $1000 and my account balance is $1000, lets consider that $1000 as two $500s. Using one of those $500, I bought €500 (Lets assume rate of EURUSD was 1 to keep things simple). My free margin is equal to $1000 (Equity) - $500 (Margin) = $500, once I open that position. I understand that. But, after a while, say, the price moves against me and I’m in a $100 loss. If I close that position, realize my loss, my free margin would be $900, I completely understand that aswell. But I don’t understand how my free margin (or the amount I have available to open new positions) should be equal to $400 while that position is open and has an unrealized loss of $100. I have another $500 that I set aside and haven’t touched from my $1000 deposit, therefore shouldn’t the maximum amount I have available to trade (or open new positions with) be $500 instead of $400? Why can’t I open a new position worth of $500 while I keep the other position open?

The question I’m asking might not make any sense at all to someone who’s experienced, but please try to put yourself in the shoes of someone who is just starting out and is very unfamiliar with everything. Please let me know if anything is unclear.

To keep it simple.
• You had $100, you want to buy an apple which cost $10 to sell afterwards.
• Upon buying the apple at the rate of $10, you left with $90 which means you could still buy 9 more apples with that. (Free margin)

• Assuming upon holding your apple, there was an increase in the price of apple due to fruit shortages which created huge demand for the fruit.
• Let’s say apple had an increase of 100% from its initial price to make its actual price now $20 right? Which means you having a $10 gain on your apple.