Contradicting charts

Brand new newbie here and I have some questions. I have been trading a weekly gap strategy on a demo account for around 4 months now. I trade using my iPad and study charts from Metatrader5, FXCM, NetDania and Trade Interceptor. I have begun to notice some discreqancies in between these charts. For instance, my Metatrader account will show a huge gap in the EUR/CHF, yet my Trade Interceptor account will not only not have a gap but will even have a candlestick in the OPPOSITE DIRECTION! My stategy has been faring well, but I am confused as to which chart to put my faith in. Please help. Thanks

how long (duration) is that opposite candle? it could just be the broker having a very large spread at the opening of the session, and that (either on purpose or by coincidence) can trip a ton of limit orders before the market proceeds as it normally should. i’ve seen massive rapid (like 1 second) UP-DOWN-UP-DOWN spikes at my previous broker during significant news release events, which my current broker hardly ever has. could be their spreads widening, or if they’re a market maker they fiddle with the rate to trip a bunch of orders “for fun”.

Are both charts for the same currency pair and time frames?

Hi BradleyMyers,

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

Can you post screenshots of these charts for comparison?

Thanks,
Jason

At the end of this week I have a bullish candle for trade interceptor and a bearish for fxcm

Thanks for posting these screenshots, Bradley. Can you change the time frame from weekly to 4-hour charts? I suspect that the two charting packages are using different start and end times for the weekly charts, and this will be easier to see on a shorter time frame.

Brokers may close their charts on different time frames. The two most common I know of are based on GMT midnight and then right after the NY session close (since EURUSD is the most popular pair and a majority of transactions include the dollar).