Correlated Currency Divergence Arbitrage

Hello Traders,

I’m a new trader and I have a strategy that I want to to share with you to have an opinion from experienced trader, and in case some of you will help coding the indicators required.

Basically Correlated Pairs (Gold / Silver) (S&P / Nas) (…) move like DNA strands: they will cross each other, and then they will move away one from another like an elastic, to move together again later, and this sequence is repeated over time.

How can we take advantage of this sequence?

When they are far away from each other, at the maximum extension of the elastic, we can Sell the one above and Buy the one below.

No matter what, they will later cross each other again, and we will close both the position at the crossing.

At the closing we will have 3 scenario:

1. If the cross occurs between the Buy and the Sell, both trades are in profit.
  2. If price closes above the Sell, the Buy will be in profit and Sell in loss, with the profit of the Buy bigger than the loss of the Sell.
  3. If price closes below the Sell, the Sell will be in profit and the Buy in loss, with the profit of the Sell bigger than the loss of the Buy.

So, no matter where the price closes, we will have a NET position of the 2 positions in profit.

Basically it is like an arbitrage on the divergence of correlated pairs.

A drawdown may occur after we place the trades, if the elastic enlarge even more, so we will have for some time a drawdown. In this case we may also think to add a position as no matter what, the 2 pairs will cross each other again later.

It can be used on any time frame. I expect more trades on smaller timeframe with small profit (smaller pips) each, and I expect fewer trades on bigger timeframe, but with bigger profit (bigger pips) each.

What we will need?

1. We will need an overlay indicator which put the 2 pairs on the same chart.