Could this downwards move have been anticipated?

Hi, newbie here so please be gentle! Please see the screenshot below of USDMXN today. Based on this timeframe, I would have assumed the trend would have continued to rise. This is not however what happened and the price dropped to 19.10500. Could this downwards move have been anticipated?

1 Like

My chart and yours don’t exactly agree. Looks like the last candle on your screenshot is 1340. Since 1340, the lowest price I see is 19.14090 at 1355. After that, price has resumed rising and made a highest 19.25490 at 1424.

Drop to 19.105:
metatrader5_2

Are your charts bid-price or ask price based?

hi :slight_smile: over what time frame is this?

Hi Tommor, thanks for the reply. i think this is Ask price (at least the “show ask price” is ticked in MetaTrader).

I guess may question is that in hindsight traders could have made a nice profit from the drop (enter with a high sell) and then bought low on the bounce back up. But would it have been possible to spot this move before it happened?

Here’s another downward move (from last week) that I’m struggling to understand how it would have been possible to predict. :thinking:

Sure. No, I don’t think these things can ever be pinpointed to happen on a certain day or at a certain time or after a certain price change. But we do know they will happen. After that, its a highly individual question what do you do about it.

For me, if its a strong trend I look to pyramid the initial trade simply on price appreciation, not waiting for new signals. If its not such a strong trend I get out as soon as we get a lower daily high or even a lower daily close: both these are also entry signals and I’m quite happy to get out of a trend this evening and get back in tomorrow morning.

2 Likes

PS: Every chart I’ve ever seen is based on bid-price. Except line charts which are uncommon these days but are based on mid-price.

Shouldn’t you have shorted when price broke your trend line?