Could you please explain this bit of the fxcm.com interface to me?

Hello, newbie here, brand new to Forex and the fxcm interface.

I’m working the the demo account, and am a bit confused on the workings of the user interface in regard to opening up a new position.

When I open a position, from the buy button, one of the inputs is the amount.

When I have a single position open with a value of 10 (k), the used margin is listed as 100.00.

Does this mean that leveraging is being applied? If I were to open a real account I would be looking to trade without leveraging (1:1) since I am very new to all this. Would this be an option?

Also would 10k be the minium position that I could open if I opened a standard account with $2000, as this would be the amount that I am looking to start with?

Thanks in advance.

i’ll answer half of your question(s).

yes, leverage will always be applied, at least technically. but realistically, if you have a $2k balance and you open a trade with a 1k position, then effectively you are NOT leveraged. but in the background, the broker will only set aside maybe $10 of your balance and leverage it up to that 1k position. worry more about the EFFECTIVE leverage (position size versus account balance) than the internal stuff.