COVID Anxiety on Investments

This coronavirus anxiety caused me to make these money mistakes. I’ve read that the swift and unprecedented spread of the COVID-19 outbreak has made the financial markets extremely volatile, leaving investors with huge losses in a short timeframe. I must admit when pandemic started, stocks and crypto went down and as an aggressive investor, it lead me to sell my shares. It give me literally losses and up to now, I’m doing no good. I’m having panic attacks thinking on what kind of investment is the right ting to do. There are also sleepless nights and its making me feel drained. What do you think should I do? I need help.

Oh no. :frowning: I’m so sorry you’re going through this. :frowning: I’m not a pro in psychology of traders or investors, but I would suggest taking a step back from looking into investments. For now, maybe you can focus on other things that could help get your mind off of these things. :frowning: Getting in the market again now and trying to regain everything you lost would be very difficult, especially if you’re being riddled by anxiety. :frowning:

Hi @Coeling,
First you have my empathy for your situation. This happened to me a few times in my earlier life, and at the time was devastating. One particular event that sticks in my mind was that a scammer managed to legally steal a car from me, and that relatively small loss tipped me over the edge into technical bankruptcy. It shut down my business (which I now know should have been shut down long before, and it took me 6 years of carrying a debt half the size of a UK mortgage to get back to break even.
That was probably the most valuable lesson I learned in life.

Over the years, I have found that my most valuable possession is an ability to do risk analysis of any choice I make when contemplating future investments, or trading, or stuff I decide to spend that I call “discretionary spending” or put another way - stuff you don’t need for survival.