Crossover with a twist

Hello everybody,

I am sure most of you already know about the moving average (MA) crossover strategy that some people think is worthless. I have been studying and testing this method for a few weeks on different currency pairs and time frames. YES I am a newbie.
This is my first post and I will be discussing this strategy with a few personal changes. If you already know about this strategy and think it is a waste of time, please don’t read any further.

BASIC PRINCIPLE:
Go long at a bullish crossover (when a fast MA crosses a slow MA from below)
Go short at a bearish crossover (when a fast MA crosses a slow MA from above)
That’s it! There’s nothing more to it.

ADVANTAGES:
• Simple
• Easy to understand for newbies like me
• Works well (anywhere between 100 to 1000 pips in a trade!!)
DISADVANTAGES:
• The only disadvantage I can think of is that it is prone to “fakeouts”.
Fakeouts are small crossovers when the price suddenly goes in the opposite direction of the crossover.LOL read that again if you don’t get it, sorry for my bad English. Its not my first language. :stuck_out_tongue:

Now I will show you how I tweak the values of these MAs and how I manually filter fakeouts.

MY WAY OF TRADING MA CROSSOVERS:

Note: I have developed this simple style after a few weeks of testing on my demo account. There might be millions of threads or videos all over the internet that explain similar style of trading. So please, don’t call me a crook because I haven’t had the time to go through each and every one of those millions of threads.

Currency pair: EURUSD (low spread and good volatility)
Time frame: H4 and Daily (more reliable, less fakeouts)
Fast MA: 5 period EXPONENTIAL moving average applied to OPEN.
Slow MA: 40 period EXPONENTIAL moving average applied to OPEN. (30 period EMA works on the daily)

CHANGES from THE BASIC PRINCIPLE:
• Enter long after a bullish crossover BUT only after a confirmation.