Daily profit target

Does anyone set themselves a daily maximum? ie a max profit percentage for the day and walk away? Or is it trade by trade?

2 Likes

Ideally I want to make a minimum of $250 a week. But focusing on good trades is the best way to consistent profits.

4 Likes

My daily maximum is 5% risk on open trades. Protecting my account is first and foremost.

4 Likes

Hey @steve369 do you trade crypto as well? Do you have any intraday strategy that’s been proving profitable for you?

1 Like

I only intraday trade FX currency pairs, and scalping DAX index at London opening. I don’t trade Mondays or Fridays usually.

My Ichimoku trend strategy has been profitable over each of the last seven months, albeit positive probability trades that meet my strict criteria are limited. Positive probability is reading the charts for when order flow could put me on the right side of a trade. So my first stopping point is a supply and demand zone in a trending market.

Thanks! I read some of your posts in the forum about the strategies you use. The Ichimoku one is really complex so it’s easy to guess you won’t find trades that get confirmed on all the timeframes by all the indicators all the time. But that complexity gives it a high probability to win.

Do you trade range markets or do you try to stay away from them? Do you have any post about a strategy that can be used in range markets?

I trade the DAX index using the top and bottom (two lines) of the 5m chart price range for the last hour before London opening, for scalping the 1m chart when it opens at 2pm.

That’s the nearest I get to trading range currency markets, which takes a lot of learning to be successful.
WHY? Because the order flow is a fight between the bulls and bells in a zone that only breaks out when either more of the bears or bulls close their trades.

to keep 5 % risk in each and every trade is really difficult and challenging , need a powerful money management.

1 Like