DAX futures

Hi all,

it’s my first post on this great forum - I am relatively new to trading - mostly I deal with forex, but now I would like to trade on DAX and CAC (and perhaps some other indexes…)

but there are some differences to fx trading so there comes first questions:

the specification of the instruments are as follow:

DAX - 1 lot = �25 * DAX30
CAC - 1 lot = �10 * CAC40

Now I would like to start a pair trading on this 2 instruments - to balance as good as possible the 2 values I need to open a the same value in opposite directions…

so if presently DAX = 5515 and CAC = 3650 - to calculate the lot sizes, should I go like that:

1 lot of dax = 551525 = 137.875�
1 lot of cac = 3650
10 = 36.500�
and therefore

for 1 lot long on dax I need (137.875/36.500) c.a. 3,77 short lot of cac ?

or should I calculate it by 1 tick per 1 lot size:

which is �5 for CAC and �12,50 for DAX - so in this case for each tick I need 2,5 times more CAC then DAX ?

how to match it ?

I got lost…

thank you in advance for help…

the links to indexes specifications are here:

FxPro – The World's No.1 Online Forex (FX) Broker
FxPro – The World's No.1 Online Forex (FX) Broker

NewKid

yo newkid,

to my understanding, what you want to do is place trades in both of them in order to maximize potential profits and reduce risk. If this is indeed what you’re wanting to do then I will share what little i know about doing this in forex…basically, there are ratios between certain currencies…currency correlation i believe is what they are sometimes called. (something like this Forex Correlation - Trading Tools - Mataf. however, there are two things that make this difficult to do…

the first one being that these ratios are constantly changing, not just per day or hour, but per tick. so, what may be a strong correlation one day or one minute even, may drop the next day/minute–or rise ;D. so, variations in the ratios can be a problem.