Different Time Frames - How to go about?

Hi everyone,

I am new to Forex and till now I am using resistance/support levels and EMA (8; SMA 5) to look for opportunities. Trading the main currency pairs and XAUUSD.

So far I have difficulties to understand how to go about the different time frames and which ones to use for placing the trade! For example, often I use the M15 for placing the levels and M1 for looking for the entry opportunity.

At the moment it’s more Scalping what I am looking at and not Swing trading, etc.

I would love to hear your suggestions. Or maybe you can refer me to a great post on this here or another resource?

Many thanks,
Michael

Scalpng isn’t something I do so whatever I say is based on basic TA principles only.

Your MA periods are very close - both are likely to be saying the same thing, like witnesses who saw something occur in the street but they were both passing by on the same bus so of course they couldn’t see anything else. Most traders will make sure that the larger period is at least 2-3 times the smaller.

Your use of very different time-frame periods is a pretty standard approach. I don’t know that it is super-effective but at least it’s rational.

Most traders will tell you that micro time-frames such as M15 or less are the least reliable for detailed TA, and you might as well just identify the price trend and jump in.

5 Likes

Hello Michael. :wave:t3:

I’m also new to trading even though I have gotten my fair share of losing experience in trading.

If you’re scalping, then I feel your time frame is not that bad since you’re in to leverage on the short-time move of the market.

Unless, you then want to become a day or swing trader, then decease from M1 or M5. From M15 is what is advisable for a day or swing trader.

@tommor has explained enough anyway.

2 Likes

I think these are so fast and close together that you wouldn’t even be able to tell the difference between EMA and SMA anyway.