DO EA's Work?

I read all these forms on the discussion of EA’s and frankly I have not read a straight answer to the question. Then to be honest some of you have the worst spelling and grammar so it’s hard to understand what your saying. I have been trading an FX demo acct through Oanda for a couple of months and actually delayed going live in FX now that I found a tried, true and tested trading system in the US stock market. A lot of the things that I have learned in FX and technical analysis has taught me to watch for pull back, enter a position and make money. I do, however want to start testing EA’s on a demo acct with FXCM, due to low spreads. One I have looked into is called Forex Fury, they have a website and the information is posted there. But after reading forum after forum I just want to know, do and can an EA system work. I know there are tons of them out there so I don’t plan on buying piles of them to test. Willing to go through a few but EA’s work???

Hi there
An EA is just a program; it simply does what it’s programmed to do. In that sense your question is like asking “do programs work?” So, if you have a strategy with a positive expectancy that can be completely automated, then yes, it can be turned into an EA that will “work”. Too often EAs are viewed as an easier way to trade. I think creating your EA system is harder and takes more knowledge than normal trading. To achieve success using EA’s takes a broad knowledge of the underlying trading principles as well as knowledge of the EA’s code and operation. If an EA has a good strategy backing it, It should do fine. Something you need to be aware of when it comes to EAs is that it’s incredibly easy to throw together a piece-of-crap system and tune it to work on historical pricing. I could easily create two EAs a day with historical results that look fantastic, but which would most likely fail in a forward-testing or live-market test. Be very skeptical of back-testing results.