Do I really need a stop loss?

I am an extremely new trader, so bear with what you probably consider completely naivte and stupidity.

But, I have been a somewhat active trader the last 4 days and for the most part any loss I have experienced has rebounded within 1-2 days.

Even when I try to follow someone’s advice on cutting losses short, it is completely wasteful as I find out the price just rebounded later.

Excluding huge recessions, or huge geopolitical events, is it safe to say that a price can/is likely to steady back?

I’ve also been investing from a $500 account, so does that impact my perspective?
Or do prices really plummet? And become irreversible? Or if I hold it long enough will it eventually just come back?

1 Like

Price won’t always rebound back into the black, and obviously four days is far from enough data for you to predict the future. Sometimes Price turns on you and just keeps going. Without a SL, you can simply be wiped out by some of the big market moves, particularly with a smaller account.

If you are set on trading without a SL, personally I’d advise a lot of demo trading to test your theory, over an extended period of time.

ST

3 Likes

If you’re extremely new, stop day-trading. Get your set-ups from the daily charts, trade on these and use stop-losses set at appropriate places - either according to TA where your entry set-up is weakened by newer price action, or very wide so that it will never be hit but it will give you time to close it manually for a smaller loss as the TA weakens.

4 Likes

Unless you have serious cash, yes.

Have you tried basing your stops off of ATR? That used to be my problem also - ATR helped a bit, I still get stopped out a lot but not as much anymore. Also do you avoid trading when there’s high volatility due to news releases?

1 Like