Double Tops and Head and Shoulders in a downtrend

Hi everybody! This is my first post on babypips forum. I’m a college student who wants to learn how to trade forex so your educational platform is an amazing source for me as a beginer, so thank you very much :pray: :pray:.

Curently, I am learning the most common chart patterns and I have been facing a…let’s say “problem” on Double Top pattern and Head and Shoulders pattern. My question is : Can these patterns provide relevant signals in a downtrend? They are presented as “reversal patterns” that occur in an uptrend, so could them be considered continuation patterns in this particular situation? The same for the Double Bottom pattern and Inverse Head and Shoulders pattern in an uptrend.
Thank you!

PS: Sorry for my english! I’m not a native speaker.

Yes, if I was trading the pattern I would consider a reversal ONLY if the reversal is at a higher time frame reversal. You cannot just trade them vanilla. You need to check the left side.

That was my first opinion on these patterns aswell…but then i saw the rising/falling wedge pattern, which is a bearish/bullish pattern by itself regardless of the trend on which is found, so…I have started to question the other patterns too :sweat_smile: :sweat_smile: .
Thank you for your answear! It helped me a lot.

Yep - that’s the key - think of the ‘why’ price behaved as it did.

A wedge often suggests a breakout - so figure why price moved into a smaller range - usually a range tightens because the market is stalling on some news up ahead and players are reluctant to take up positions.

Learn the cause of the stall, then form an understanding of what is likely to happen up ahead - the breakout direction.

1 Like

Cosmin, my post above is kinda bland without an example - you will have to check back a few posts to put into context - the chart below is a classic wedge - it’s Eur/Usd daily and you can see how price moved into a smaller range.